Impasse over power transfer in K'taka continues

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Oct 2 (UNI) The transfer of power between the coalition partners JD(S) and the BJP will not happen tomorrow as the Janata Dal(S) Legislature Party which met here tonight have passed an unanimous decision to empower the October 5 party's national executive to take final decision on the issue of transfer of power to BJP in Karnataka.

Briefing newsmen after emerging out of the four-hour long meeting of the party's legislators, Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy informed that the meeting took stock of the political situation following en masse resignation of all the BJP ministers.

Accusing that the BJP was adopting arm-twisting policy to force the JD(S) to decide on the issue, he charged that no formal request was received from BJP leaders on the issue of transfer of power.

Charging BJP's senior leader and former Union Minister Yashwanth Sinha, issuing dictating terms through media on the issue of transfer of power, Mr Kumaraswamy accused that ''BJP was pushing for the 'inevitable' (mid-term election) to happen and JD(S) can not be blamed for that''.

Asked whether BJP was indulging in blackmailing him to hand over power, he retorted that ''Let people pass judgment on your observation''. Emphasising that the decision of the Party's national executive body on the issue of transfer of power would be final, Mr Kumaraswamy declared that ''no any decision will be taken before October 5''. The resignation papers submitted by the BJP ministers and the letter delivered by the BJP would also be placed before the October-5 national executive meeting scheduled to be held at New Delhi, he said.

Terming the decision of the BJP ministers to resign en mass from the cabinet as 'Unfortunate,'' Mr Kumaraswamy still expressed hopes that everything would be fine for all.

The partners have been at loggerheads after Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy refused to resign and pave the way for the first BJP Chief Minsiter in South India, ignoring the saffron party's deadline that ended this evening.

As a result, all the 17 BJP ministers, including the Deputy Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa, handed over their resignation letters to the Chief Minister tonight and demanded Mr Kumaraswamy to convene the joint legislature party to enable Mr Yediyurappa assume the office as per the agreement.

The Chief Minister 'advised' his deputy and the BJP ministers to wait till October 5 when the JD(S) national executive meets and assured that 'everything will be settled' on that day.

He said the BJP's decision as 'acting in haste and a childish move'.

In a series of developments today, both the party leaders adopted tough approach and chalked out their future course of action.

Earlier, the BJP leaders convened a meeting in presence of National Vice President Yashwant Sinha and senior leader Venkaiah Naidu and decided to quit en masse to pressurise Mr Kumaraswamy to demit his office.

(Ed: Pickup suitably from earlier series) UNI

Please Wait while comments are loading...