Bhandari elected Punjab BJP chief

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 18 (UNI) Ludhiana based commerce lecturer, Prof Rajinder Kumar Bhandari was today elected president of the Punjab BJP for a period of three years.

Prof Bhandari was elected unopposed at a meeting of the state and district units of the party, in which a number of senior leaders participated.

The 13 National Council members of the BJP from Punjab were also elected unopposed.

The election was held under the supervision of Mr Pyare Lal Khandelwal, MP and senior BJP leader who was the central election observor of the party for the elections. Mrs Kiran Ghai, BJP national secretary who is incharge of Punjab affairs was also present.

Prof Bhandari was appointed the state BJP chief in place of Mr Avinash Rai Khanna, MP after the assembly polls which saw the BJP and its senior alliance partner, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) capture power in the border state. However the formal election of Mr Bhandari for a three year term took place today after the completion of party elections in all the districts of Punjab.

The members of the National Council from the state include-- Cabinet ministers Laxmi Kanta Chawla, Swarna Ram and Tikshan Sud, former minister Madan Mohan Mittal, Balramjit Dass Tandon and Baldev Raj Chawla and former state BJP chief Brij Lal Rinwa. The other members are Bhagat Chuni Lal (MLA), Sita Ram Kashyap, Mrs Gurcharan Kaur, Satpal Mahajan, Satya Pal Saini and Dr Balbir Chand Kapila.


Please Wait while comments are loading...