Govt should adopt zero tolerance against terrorism: Advani

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Sep 16 (UNI) Former Deputy Prime Minister and Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha Lal Krishan Advani today urged the government to adopt ''zero tolerance'' against terrorism so as to eradicate it from the country.

Mr Advani was the chief guest at the 97th Shaheed Parivar Fund Function, organised by the Punjab Kesari Group here.

He along with other dignitaries distributed financial aid of more than Rs 19 lakh among the 133 who were victims of terrorism. He also flagged off the 227th truck load of goods for the migrants of border areas of Jammu and Kashmir.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Advani said,''Terrorism is not an ordinary crime, to wipe it out from the country, special laws should be enacted.'' Citing the example of Coimbatore blasts case, he said Abdul Naser Mahdani, the main accused of Coimbatore serial blasts that killed 58 on February 14, 1998, was recently released by the court.

The CBI should appeal against the verdict in the higher court to provide justice to the victims' families, he added.

Criticising the Union Government over its unwillingness in fighting terrorism, Mr Advani said the mastermind of the Parliament attack case Mohammad Afzal, who was sentenced to death by the Supreme Court, was not hanged till today.

Even the gallantry medals presented to the nine security personnel posthumously, who died fighting the terrorists during the attack on the Parliament, were returned to the government by the kith and kin of the martyrs against the dilly-dally attitude of the government in executing the death sentence of Afzal.

Former Punjab DGP and Indian Hockey Federation president KPS Gill, while speaking on the occasion said,''Political will is needed to contain terrorism.'' For this, he said all political parties should sit together and pledge to support each other in fighting terrorism.

Those present on this occasion included former Governor of Nagaland O P Sharma, Punjab Cooperative Minister Capt Kanwaljit Singh, MP Navjot Singh Sidhu, Leader of Opposition in the Assemby Mrs Rajinder Kaur Bhattal and CPI Secretary Jagrup Singh, besides others.


Please Wait while comments are loading...