• search

'Bangalore now Bengaluru'

Written by: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Aug 21: The Central government has given permission for the renaming of 12 cities of Karnataka. Only the renaming of Belgaum to Belagavi is withheld.

Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy yesterday said that the govt had received a letter from the Centre asking it to go ahead with renaming the cities except Belgaum. The conflict on the border between Karnataka and Maharashtra possibly resulted in withholding Belgaum name change.

The proposal to rename Bangalore to Bengaluru first came up in December 2005 at a meeting of litterateurs on celebrations of state golden jubilee Suvarna Karnataka.

The Karnatake govt then sent a list of 12 names in 2006 after which clearances from the departments like the Survey of India, Science and Technology, Posts, and Telegraphs and Railways came. On 1 Nov 2006 the CM announced the renaming of the cities.

The following are changed names of the cities.

Old Name
New Name
Bangalore Bengaluru
Mysore Mysuru
Mangalore Mangaluru
Hubli Hubballi
Shimoga Shivamogga
Chikmagalur Chikkamagaluru
Bellary Ballary
Bijapur Vijapura
Hospet Hosapete
Tumkur Tumakuru
Kaup Kapu
Gulbarga Kalaburgi
Belgaum Belagavi (pending)

OneIndia News

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more