• search

Polling in progress in Shivpuri

By Staff
Google Oneindia News

Shivpuri, MP, June 2 (UNI) About 15 per cent of the 1.96 lakh electorate exercised their franchise in the first two hours of the peaceful polling for the Assembly byelection here which began today amid tight security.

Altogether 15 candidates, including 10 independents, figure in the bypoll necessitated by the resignation of then State Tourism Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia(BJP) following her election to the Lok Sabha from Gwalior.

Elaborate security arrangements are in place at all 216 polling booths. Despite heat wave lashing the area, enthusiasm prevailed among the voters, who were seen queueing up at the booths since morning, official sources said.

Former Congress leader Ganesh Ram Gautam is the ruling BJP nominee, while Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia-loyalist businessman Virendra Raghuvanshi is the Congress candidate. Samajwadi Party nominee Kavita Hazarilal Kotia, Bhartiya Jan Shakti leader Narendra Birthare and Kailash Singh Rawat of Rashtriya Samanata Dal are also in the fray.

Five companies each of CRPF and SAF, besides district police personnel were engaged in the poll duty.

Votes polled today would be taken up for counting here on June 5.


For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X