• search

Karnataka Cabinet expanded; 5 new members

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Jan 25:Karnataka Cabinet was expanded today with induction of five legislators into the Janata Dal (Secular) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition Ministry.

Governor T N Chaturvedi administered oath of secrecy to Mr G T Devegowda, Mahadeva Prasad, R Srinivas (all JD-S), S Shivanna, Appasaheb Mallappa Pattanshetty (all BJP) at a simple ceremony held in Banquet Hall in Raj Bhavan.

This was third time Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy effected the expansion of his ministry after assuming power on February Three 2006 when himself and Deputy Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa were sworn in. The Ministry was first expanded on February 17 with the induction of 20 legislators--BJP 11 and JD-S Nine.

The Ministry was expanded second time on June 21-2006 to accommodate senior leaders including M P Prakash and Chief Minister's brother H D Revanna and two others from JD-S and four from BJP.

With today's expansion the size of the ministry has risen to 34 with both coalition partners having equal share.


Related Stories

K'taka: HDK blames BJP for not including Women
Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy to expand his cabinet

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more