• search

Tomar elected MP BJP president

Written by: Staff

Bhopal, Nov 21 (UNI) Madhya Pradesh Panchayat and Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar was today elected unopposed as the new president of the state BJP.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, BJP general secretary Anant Kumar, BJP central election observer Omprakash Mathur, party MPs Sumitra Mahajan, Thawarchand Gehlot, former Union Minister Suderlal Patwa and other senior leaders were present at the party meeting.

Mr Tomar will succeed Mr Satyanarain Jatia, who took charge about nine months ago but was not very comfortable with the post.

The election of Mr Tomar as the state BJP president has made it clear that the party intended to promote second generation leaders in the state Assembly elections, which are due in 2008.

Mr Tomar was commended for his better performance as minister and for his clean image at the meeting.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more