• search

10 outstation teams for PYC-ATC snooker meet

Written by: Staff

Pune, Nov 21 (UNI) Ten outstation teams are among the 40 teams that have confirmed their participation in the third PYC-ATC Snooker Challenge 2006 Championship which gets underway here from November 25 to December 9.

The tournament is being held under the aegis of the Billiards and Snooker Federation of India (BSFI) and the Maharashtra Billiards and Snooker Association (MBSA).

Some top players like Devendra Joshi, Kamal Chawla, Neeraj Kumar, Zubin Registrar, Karan Anand, Ritesh Pandya, and Shravan Mota will be seen in action, MBSA president Rajan Khinvasara told reporters here today.

The winner in the team championship will receive s 25,000 while the runner-up will receive Rs 17,200.

A maximum of four players from each team will be allowed to participate, tournament director Salil Deshpande and organising secretary Arun Barve informed.

The 40 teams have been divided into eight different pools, and two teams will qualify for the knock out stage.

The pool ties will be played on the best-of-three frame format.

The pre-quarter and quarter finals will be played on a best-of-five basis while the semi-finals and the finals will be best-of-seven events, Mr Deshpande said.

Three junior girls from the hosts PYC Gymkhana Club are also participating in the tournament, Mr Deshpande said.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more