• search

23 candidates in fray for Kota by-election

Written by: Staff

Kota, Nov 20 (UNI) Twenty-three candidates were left in the fray with six independent candidates withdrawing their names for December 4 by-election to the Kota assembly constituency in Chhattisgarh.

The main contestants in the race included former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi's wife Mrs Renu Jogi (Congress) and Mr Bhupendra Singh Thakur (BJP).

Other contestants included Mr Chamru Singh Bhanu (NCP), Mr Preetam Pandram (GGP), Mr Syed Salamat (Chhattisgarh Samajwadi Party) and Mr A K Mukesh Kumar (RPI) besides 16 independent candidates.

The by-election was necessitated due to the death of former Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh Speaker Rajendra Prasad Shukl.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more