• search

Naren Kumar emerges National Rally Champion

Written by: Staff

Panaji, Nov 19 (UNI) Naren Kumar further strengthened his credentials as the champion rally driver of the country when he drove away to his sixth overall National Rally Championship after winning the WIAA Rallye De Goa--the final round of the MAI's Indian National Rally Championship-- here today.

Riding easy on the overnight lead of 1 minute 20 seconds over third placed Karandeep Singh of Team MRF, Naren did just enough to keep himself in the fray without unnecessarily pushing his machine and finished the eight stages in a timing of 1: 11.24; 11 seconds ahead of teammate Gaurav Gill/Farooq Ahmed (1:11.35). Team MFRF's Lohit Urs finished overall third in 1:13.04, while Karandeep Singh was fourth in 1:13.26.

The 1400 cc category saw Girijashankar Joshy hold on to his huge overnight lead to win the title here and with it the National crown.

The same was the case in the Rally Star Cup with Rajesh Gadakh/Paritosh Kohok winning this round and with it the National title.

Gaurav Gill, who finished overall second here, scored 12 points and finished second in the National championship with 43, while Karandeep who got six points from this round finished third with 40.

UNI XC DH sam ht1917

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more