• search

JP Atray Cricket attracts top teams

Written by: Staff

Chandigarh, Sep 11 (UNI) The prestigious JP Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament has attracted the top teams of the country in the 13th edition of the attractive prize money competition which begins with a match between Indian Oil and All India Association of Banks here on September 17.

The tournament is being organised under the auspices of Punjab Cricket Association and recognised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Convener of the JP Atray Tournament, Vivek Atray and organising secretary Sushil Kapoor told newmen here today ''although the Indian cricket team is on the Malaysian tour till September 24, the local cricket fans might have the opportunity of seeing the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Dinesh Mongia, RP Singh, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Virender Sehwag if Air India, Mumbai Cricket Association, Punjab Cricket Club or Oil and Natural Gas Commission enter semi-finals.'' Other top stars namely VRV Singh, Reetinder Sodhi, Gagandeep Singh, Pankaj Dharmani, Ajay Ratra, Sandeep Singh, Rahul Sangvi, Gagan Khoda, Joginder Sharma, AT Rayudu, Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Zaffar and Robin Utthapa would be seen in action.

Vivek Atray, who is Director Public Relations, Chandigarh Administration and son of late J P Atray, Additional Director General of Police, Haryana, said 12 teams had been divided into four pools.

Sushil Kapoor said that two teams from each pool would make the cut for the quarter-finals. ''We are sticking to the 50-over-a-side match and the matches will be played under the latest ICC rules for one-day cricket,'' said Vivek Atray.

The winners will be awarded a cash prize of Rs 1.20 lakh and runners-up will take home Rs 60,000. The prize money has been increased. The third place holders will receive a paycheck of Rs 35,000 and fourth place winners will get Rs 15,000. Besides there will be 20 man of the match prizes, individual awards, the best bowler, the best batsman, the best fielder and man of the tournament.

Sushil Kapoor declared that all tournament venues are in proper shape and the final will be played at the Sector 3 Panchkula Cricket Stadium on September 28.

Haryana Governor A R Kidwai has been invited to be the chief guest.

The following are the groupings: Group A: Minerva Cricket Academy, All India Associate Banks, Indian Oil Corporation.

Group B: PCA Colts, Air India, Madhya Pradesh Cricket Academy.

Group C: Rajasthan Cricket Association, Mumbai Cricket Association.

LIC Club.

Group D:Punjab Cricket Club, ONGC and Canara Bank.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more