• search

AAI announces teams for forthcoming championships

Written by: Staff

Jamshedpur, Sep 11 (UNI) Archery Association of India (AAI) announced the teams for the forthcoming five championships on the basis of the performance of the three-day selection trial For Indian team, which ended here today.

The four-member team for men's and women's recurve category was announced for the World Cup Championship to be held from September 26 to October 1 in Sanghai, Grand Prix Asian Circuit Championship from November 1 to 5 in Myanmar,Commonwealth Games from November 8 to 11 in here and Asian Games from December 1 to 15 in Doha.

The AAI also announced the team for the compound round and recurve round for the men and women and the junior and sub-junior world cup to be held in Mexico from October15 to 21 this year.

Mr Mukherjee said, '' We are satisfied with the performance of the archers,particularly the archers in recurve category are doing well. They (both men and women) are even performing better than South Korean archers. We hope they will win medals in the forthcoming championships. '' The highlight of the women's recurve team was the comeback of Chekrovolou Swuro, popularly known as Anga. The 24-year old Nagaland girl, who last played in any international tournament in 2004, performed consistently this year and in the selection trial she even performed better than Asian games gold medallist and the Arjuna Awardee Dola Banerjee.

In Men's recurve, Mangal Singh of Andhra Pradesh also improved a lot and had an excellent outing in the selection trial and performed better than stars like Jayanta Talukdar and Arjuna Awardee Tarundeep Rai.

Follwoing are the teams : Recurve category : (Men) Mangal Singh, Jayanta Talukdar, Taurndeep Rai and Viswash.

(Women) : Chekrovolu Swuro, Dola Banerjee, Punya Prabha and Reena Kumari.

Compound Category: (Men) Paltan Hansda, Chungda Sherpa, Santosh Tamang and Abhishek Verma.

(Women) : Jhanu Hansda, Bhagyabati Chanu, Manjudha Soy and Sweety Kumari.

(Junior Boys) : Paltan Hansda,Santosh Tamang and Abhishek Verma.

(Junior Girls) : Sweety Kumari,Niva Karketta and M Rishita.

Recurve categroy :(Junior Boys) Prabhat Kandir,Kapil and Sandeep Kamboj.(Junior Girls) Punya Prabha,Reshma Banerjee and Ranu.

Cadet Boys Compound : Sumit Mishra,Renso Purty and Sanjay Swansi.(Girls): Namita Yadav,Jyoti Bandra and Asrita Karketta.

Cadet Boys Recurve : A Raju,Rajib Basumataray and Rabindra Hembram.

(Girls): V Pranitha, Pratima Boro and Minakshi.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more