• search

Azad allocates portfolios; Baig retains Finance

Written by: Staff

Srinagar, Aug 31 (UNI) Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad today allocated the portfolios to his Ministers.

The portfolios of the Cabinet Ministers are: Deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will retain the important portfolios of Finance, Planning, Law and Parliamentary Affairs. However, he has been divested of Tourism portfolio.

Mr Mangat Ram Sharma of the Congress will hold the charge of Health and Medical Education, Labour and Employment and Ladakh Affairs Ministeries. Transport and Administrative Reforms have been taken away from him.

Mr Abdul Aziz Zargar of the PDP will be Agriculture, Sericulture, Cooperation and Fisheries Minister. He has been divested of Hospitality and protocol.

Peoples Democratic Forum (PDF) Chairman Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen will be Transport Minister. He has been divested of Food, Civil Supplies, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution portfolios.

Jammu and Kashmir Congress President Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed will be School Education, Science and Technology, Information Technology, Haj and Auqaf Minister. The portfolios of Youth Services, Sports and Civil Aviation have been taken away from him.

Independent legislator from Ladakh Nawang Rigzin Jora will retain the Power Ministry, but has been divested of Industries and Commerce portfolio.

Mr Taj Mohiuddin of the Congress will be Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Animal Husbandry and Sheep Husbandry Minister.

Science and Technology and Information Technology portfolios have been taken away from him.

Qazi Mohammad Afzal of the PDP will be Forest, Environment and Ecology Minister. He has been divested of Public Health Engineering (PHE), Irrigation and Flood Control portfolios.

Mr Tariq Hameed Karra of the PDP will be Housing and Urban Development and Tourism Minister. He has been divested of Forest, Environment and Ecology portfolios.

PDP's Mohammad Dilawar Mir, the new entrant, will hold the protfolios of PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control. Independent MLA from Kargil Haji Nisar Ali will retain the Social Welfare Ministry.

Mr Gulchain Singh Charak of the Congress will be Roads and Buildings and Mechanical Engineering Minister. He had been elevated to the Cabinet rank in the fresh expansion.

Mr Jugal Kishore of the Congress will be the Rural Development and Panchayats Minister.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more