• search

Eight new districts in J

Written by: Staff

Srinagar, July 6 (UNI) In a landmark decision, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad today announced formation of eight new districts with four each in both divisions of the state.

Addressing a news conference here, Mr Azad said the Cabinet, in its meeting this morning, took a historic decision and decided to form eight new districts in the state.

According to the decision, the Kashmir division will have new districts of Bandipora, Kulgam, Ganderbal and Shopian.

Similarly, the Jammu region would have new districts in Samba, Kishtwar, Reasi and Ramban.

With this, Jammu and Kashmir will have 22 districts. The state had 14 districts - Srinagar, Pulwama, Anantnag, Kupwara, Baramulla and Badgam in Kashmir division and Jammu, Kathua, Udhampur, Doda, Rajouri and Poonch in Jammu region while two are in Ladakh division - Leh and Kargil.

Mr Azad also announced formation of several new sub-divisions and tehsils in the state.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more