• search

'Best Science Teachers Prize' announced

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, July 6 (UNI) Opportunity School, IIT Kanpur, Principal R S Srivastava, Retired Professor N S Leela and Retired Teacher H L Ramachandra Sastry (both Bangalore) have been chosen for the first 'Best Science Teachers Prize' for inspiring students to take up science as a career.

The award, instituted by the Prof C N R Rao Education Foundation, carried a purse and a citation. It would be presented at a special ceremony, to be held here on July ten, according to a release here today.

The awardees were selected by a panel of eminent scientists, educationists and teachers constituted by the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, the release said.

The Foundation, established in 2005 with a munificent grant of personal funds from Prof Rao, was dedicated to promotion of science education at all levels through institution of financial support for students pursuing science as a career, honouring science teachers for their invaluable service towards science education and any other activities leading to promotion of science education.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more