• search

Cong set to sweep Yanam Municipality

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Jul 3 (UNI) The Congress is all set to sweep the Yanam Municipality with its candidates winning eight of the ten municipal council seats.

The party won six municipal councillor seats while two of its candidates were declared elected unopposed. It was also leading in the other two seats.

The Congress candidate for the Municipal chairman post Gidla Chandra Rao was also leading.

Congress candidates are also in the lead for municipal chairmen posts in Ozhukarai and Mahe.

Dr Sreedevi of the DMK, which is an ally of the Congress, was leading in the race for the Pondicherry Municipality Chairman's post. DMDK candidate Prabavathy continued to extend her lead in Karaikal.

The DMK bagged seven of the 19 seats for the post of municipal councillors in Pondicherry Municipality while the PMC bagged three, AIADMK one and Congress two. Independents won six seats.

The DMK also bagged six council seats in Ozhukarai Municipality where 14 results have been announced. The Congress got eight seats so far, including the four where candidates were declared elected unopposed. Three independents have also won.

Counting for commune panchayats are under progress.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more