• search

Gopalaswami to take over as CEC on Jun 30

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, June 29: Mr N Gopalaswami, Election Commissioner, has been appointed Chief Election Commissioner, while Youth Affairs and Sports Secretary S Y Qureshi is the new Election Commissioner in the three-member Constitutional body.

Mr Gopalaswami will take over as CEC at 1000 hrs at the Nirvachan Sadan, the headquarters of the Commission, here tomorrow, the EC said in a press note.

The other Commissioner is Naveen Chawla.

The appointments of the CEC and of the EC have been made by the President on the recommendations of the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), official sources said.

The appointments follow the retirement of CEC B B Tandon today.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more