• search

JD(S) notices 8 MLAs of Siddaramaiah faction

Written by: Staff

Gulbarga, Jun 4: Eight legislators belonging to the Siddaramaiah faction have been have been served showcause notices by the Janata Dal (Secular) for defying its whip in the recent elections to the Karnataka Legislative Council.

Disclosing this at a press conference here today, former Deputy Chairman of the Council and All India Progressive Janata Dal (AIPJD) leader B R Patil, MLA, said the eight legislators had been served the notices for ''anti-party activities'' and given a week's time to reply.

''However, we have sought three months' time to submit our explanation. We will be filing a writ petition questioning the validity of the whip issued by the JD (S) as it is against the fundamental rights and unjust,'' he added.

Besides former Deputy Chief Minister and AIPJD Leader Siddaramaiah and Mr Patil, the others who received the notice are M K Somasekhar, K Venkatesh, B K Yamanappa, Krishnamurthy, Mahadev and H Y Maty.

Critcising the functioning of the H D Kumaraswamy government, Mr Patil said the delay in forming the Cabinet Sub-Committee had crippled several development activities in the state. Though funds had been allocated for various departments, they had not been disbursed due to non-formation of the Sub-Committee, he pointed out.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more