• search

Rangasamy sworn in as 15th CM for second successive term

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, May 18 (UNI) Fifty-six-year old N Rangasamy was today sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Pondicherry for the second time in succession.

Born to Natesa Gounder and Panchalai Ammal on August 8, 1950 at Thilaspet in Thattanchavady constituency, Mr Rangasamy, a bachelor had shown an inclination towards politics even in his school days.

A Commerce and Law graduate, Mr Rangasamy's maiden entry into the Assembly was not smooth. He was defeated by V Pethaperumal of the Janata Dal in 1990 at Thattanchavady.

However, he won the 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006 elections from the same constituency. He was the Agriculture Minister in the Vaithilingam cabinet from 1991 to 1996 and education minister in the Shanmugham ministry, which was formed after the collapse of the R V Janakiraman ministry in 2000.

The PWD minister in the Shanmugham cabinet when he formed the ministry a second time in 2001, Mr Rangasamy became the Chief Minister on October 27 in the same year, following Mr Shanmugham's resignation.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more