• search

Wild card Rishabh Parikh shocks top seed Samip Mehta

Written by: Staff

Mumbai, May 15: Wild card Rishabh Parikh of Gujarat shocked boys under-14 top seed and compatriot Samip Mehta 6-4, 6-2, as the main draw got under way in the Xtra Premium National Series Tennis Championship here today.

In the biggest upset of the day that gave the tournament an explosive start, Parikh beat back a strong challenge from Mehta in the opening set that allowed him to take control of the game.

The deficit was a big drawback for favourite Mehta as he struggled to come to terms with the early setback.Parikh seized the advantage and dominated the second set as well, to seal a famous win for a berth in the second round.

In another close tie, number three Mohit Mayur of Tamil Nadu survived a scare before overcoming fancied Karan Avlani of Maharashtra 6-4, 3-6, 6-2 in a first round tie.

In contrast, sixth seed S. Siddharth of Tamil Nadu and number seven Shahbaz Khan of Maharashtra eased into the second round.

Results Boys U-14 (1st Rd): Rishabh Parikh (Guj) bt 1-Samip Mehta (Guj) 6-4, 6-2; Ryoto Tachi (Mah) bt Saiyam Waichure (Mah) 6-1, 6-3; Kunal Anand (Del) bt Nihar Yeravdekar (Mah) 6-2, 6-2; Hardarshan Singh (Raj) bt Arjav Hansoti (Guj) 6-2, 7-5; Hans Parthasarthi (Ori) bt Saurabh Patil (Mah) 6-0, 6-0; Vishal Passi (Mah) bt Abhinav Iyer (Mah) 6-1, 6-1; Parth Shah (Mah) bt B. Shrrinesh (AP) 6-1, 6-2; 7-Shahbaz Khan (Mah) bt Sharan Patil (Kar) 6-0, 6-1; 3-Mohit Mayur (TN) bt Karan Avlani (Mah) 6-4, 3-6, 6-2; Anirudh Darp bt Yash Deshpande (Mah) 6-4, 6-2; Maninder Singh (Har) bt Kishan Keshav (Mah) 7-5, 6-4; Rakshay Thakkar (Mah) bt Rohan Bhatia (Mah) 6-2, 6-2; Shikhar Kapur (Del) bt Rithvik Sunkara (Del) 6-2, 6-2; Siddharth Rawat (UP) bt Saurabh Raghuvanshi (MP) 6-0, 6-0; Suraj Kanwar (Guj) bt Mohd. Ashraf (TN) 6-4, 6-3; 6-S. Siddharth (TN) bt Milind Seth (Mah) 6-2, 6-0; Nishant Dikkala bt Kaushal Mehta (Mah) 6-1, 6-0; Rohan Gaonkar (Kar) bt Shlok Bolar (Mah) 6-0, 6-0; Tushal Thawani (Mah) bt Anand Chandrashekhar (Guj) 6-3, 6-0; Kaushik Reddy (AP) bt Om Dalvi (Mah) 6-3, 6-1; Chetan Pandit (AP) bt Navneet Kumar (UP) 6-0, 6-0; Shiv Nikam (Mah) bt Atul Patel (UP) 6-2, 6-0; Vaidik Munshaw (Guj) bt Nakul Rawal (Mah) 6-1, 6-0.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more