• search

Fifteen Depts have no consultative committee

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, May 15: As many as fifteen Ministries/Departments do not have any parliamentary consultative committees as they failed to fulfill the statutory requirements for that purpose, said the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs B K Handiqye in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.

He said as per the guidelines, membership of a consultative committee is voluntary and a member can be nominated to one consultative committee only. A minimum of ten members are required for a consultative committee. Preferences from required number of members of Parliament have not been received, as a result of which, the consultative committee of these Ministries have not been constituted.

Mr Handique said no specific time frame could be announced for constituting these consultative committees.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more