• search

Pondy ministry to be sworn in on May 18

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, May 14(UNI) Congress Legislature Party leader N Rangasamy will be sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of the Union Territory on May 18.

According to party sources here, Mr Rangasamy who was elected CLP leader yesterday, will leave for New Delhi along with PCC(I) president P Shanmugham to get the All India Congress Committee (AICC)'s nod for the list of his cabinet colleagues.

Meanwhile, according to reports, the Chief Minister designate prefers to head a coalition government and is trying to rope in the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) to ensure a stable ministry and to represent Karaikal region in his cabinet. However, party sources refused to confirm it.

If efforts for a coalition fail, the Karaikal region will not be represented in the cabinet. Here, all the four candidates were defeated while the DMK retained both its seats.

The three independents (two Congress rebels and one DMK rebel) who won the election had also extended support to the Rangasamy government and letters in this regard were handed over to him here yesterday.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more