• search

CPM to look into complaints of cross voting

Written by: Staff

Alappuzha, May 14 (UNI) The CPM district committee will enquire into the complaints of cross voting in at least four constituencies where the party candidates lost in the recent Kerala assembly elections.

The CPM conceded six seats to the UDF out of a total eleven in this district even as the LDF reaped gains in the neighbouring districts.

The most humiliating defeat for the party was that of T Devakumar in Harippad. He is the lone sitting MLA of the CPM who lost in this election. Another glaring defeat is that of of Saji Cherian in Chengannoor.

Meanwhile, the CPI has also reportedly complained to the CPM on the ''cross voting'' by CPM cadres in Alappuzha, where CPI candiate T J Anjelose was in the fray. The party would also look into the clash between the CPM Kuttanad area committee and candidate K C Joseph, who lost to Thomas Chandy of the DIC(K).

The CPM was fully confident of winning in the Pandalam, Chengannoor and Harippad constituencies. A large section in the CPM strongly believes that K K Shaju of the JSS received ''secret help'' from the CPM as the party candidate K Raghavan was ''unacceptable'' to them.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more