• search

Congress led DPA retains power in Pondycherry

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, May 11: The Congress-led Democratic Progressive Alliance retained power in the Union Territory winning 17 of the 25 seats declared by 1300 hrs.

With the AIADMK combine winning nine seats till 1300 hrs, even if they emerge victorious in all five remaining seats, they cannot overtake the DPA tally.

There are 30 seats in the Territorial Assembly in the enclaves of Pondicherry, Karaikal, Yanam and Mahe.

So far, the Congress had won eight seats, followed by its ally the DMK with six seats. The PMK had secured three seats.

The rival AIADMK-led Democratic People's Alliance managed to secure only three seats. The Puducherry Munnetra Congress of former Congressman P Kannan, has won three seats, but Mr Kannan lost election.

Two seats went to independents.

The MDMK, an AIADMK ally, has made its presence felt in the Union Territory for the first time by winning one seat.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more