• search

Chouhan wins Budhni by 36,525 margin

Written by: Staff

Bhopal, May 6 (UNI) Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (BJP) won the Budhni assembly bypoll by a margin of 36,525 votes over his nearest Congress rival Rajkumar Patel, official sources said today.

Mr Chouhan had won the seat in 1990 as well with a margin of 22,810 votes, while Mr Rajendra Singh (BJP), whose resignation necessitated the byelection, was elected with a 10,000-margin in 2003. Mr Patel bagged Budhni seat in 1993 with a meagre margin of 1,745.

Mr Chouhan, who is representing Vidisha in the Lok Sabha since 1991, boasted of a margin of 43,526 in the Budhni vidhan sabha segment in the 2004 general election.

The details: Electorate : 1,74,819 Votes polled : 1,12,889 Shivraj Singh Chouhan (BJP) : 66,689 (elected) Rajkumar Patel (Cong) : 30,164 Narmada Prasad Dadda Munna Yadav (SP): 894 Gulzar Singh Markam (GGP) : 7,900 Ajay Dinkar (Ind) : 632 Abdul Jabbar (Ind) : 261 Advocate Ahmed Shahid Qureshi (Ind) : 215 Kalicharan Vaidya (Ind) : 212 Khushilal (Ind) : 210 Mohammad Nafees Mansoori (Ind) : 205 Balkishan (Ind) : 236 Shobharam Sharma (Ind) : 320 Suresh Kumar (Ind) : 726 Santosh Gaur (Ind) : 2,085 Hardev Patel Gond (Ind) : 856 Shri Ram Neta (Ind) : 1,284.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more