• search

Ashok Kumar wins TSM Golden Greens Open Golf

Written by: Staff

Gurgaon, May 5 (UNI) Ashok Kumar carded his worst round, four-over 75, but still it was good enough for him to win the TSM Golden Greens Open Golf here today.

Ashok totalled a four-day aggregate of nine-under 275 and earned the winner's cheque of Rs 2,37,300.

Delhi's Arjun Singh hit one-under 70 to finish second at five-under 279 while the overnight second placed Gurbaaz Mann (Chandigarh) shot a one-over 73 to finish third at four-under 280.

Arjun and Gurbaaz pocketed Rs 1,63,050 and Rs 91,800 respectively.

Ashok began with a par but met with disaster just around the corner. On the par-4 second, he missed a two feet putt to double bogey. Another bogey followed on the very next hole. A birdie on the fourth was negated by a bogey on the fifth where Ashok two putted from 12 feet. A birdie on the ninth saw him make the turn at two over.

On his return journey, Ashok birdied the 11th, but on the very next hole, he went for his second double bogey of the day. A missed chip putt resulted in another bogey on the 14th. If a birdie on the 15th brought some relief, Ashok dropped yet another shot on the 17th to end the day at four-over. It was just the good work done in the first three rounds that saw him cruise through to a four shot win.

Arjun Singh's round started with a birdie. However, the 37 year old dropped a shot on the third. A series of pars followed till the tenth. On the 11 th, Arjun birdied to go one under. A bogey followed in the 13th but the golfer birdied the 17th to nudge into the second position.

Gurbaaz Mann started with a birdie. A bogey on the fifth and a double on the seventh however put him on the back-foot. On his return journey an eagle on the 11th was undone by back-to-back bogeys on the 13th and 14th and a series of pars thereafter saw him finish with a two over 73.

Shaurya Singh shot a final round 76 to win the amateur title by ten strokes. Manav Jaini finished second at 298.

Scores: 275 Ashok Kumar, 279 Arjun Singh, 280 Gurbaaz Mann, 282 C Muniyappa, 283 Vijay Kumar, S Madaiah, A S Lehal, Ali Sher, 284 Shamim Khan, Vivek Bhandari, 285 Rahul Ganapathy.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more