• search

EC removes two observers from Belgachia East constituency

Written by: Staff

Kolkata, Apr 27 (UNI) In a rare move, the Election Commission last night called back two Observers from the city's Belgachia East constituency following complaints by the CPI(M).

In an order late last night, the EC relieved Mr Durga Charan Sahoo of his responsibility as the Observer barely 15 hours after the removal of Expenditure Observer H R Bhimashankar, who had kicked up a controversy by describing the constituency as 'notorious'.

Confirming the news, Deputy Election Commissioner Anand Kumar said the EC, however, had deputed six Observers in place of Mr Sahoo.

Those, who have taken over as Observers for Belgachia East constituency, which had often been in the midst of controversy, are Anil Sandhu, Mr Ashok Siwani, Mr D N Bhar, Mr Ashish Chakraborty, Mr Din Ahmed and Mr Lalit Mohan.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more