• search

Pondy CM to contest for record fifth time

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Apr 20 (UNI) Pondicherry Chief Minister N Rangasamy today filed his nomination paper for the fifth time from Thattanchavady constituency.

Mr Rangasamy, who contested the election for the first time in 1990, was defeated by a former minister V Pethaperumal at Thattanchavady, The Chief Minister, however, wrested the seat from Mr Pethaperumal in 1991, who held the constituency from 1974. Mr Rangasamy, subsequently won the polls in 1996 and 2001.

Mr Pethaperumal, is not in the fray, as he had joined the Congress, quitting the Janata Dal.

The former Chief Minister V Vaithilingam, a contestant in the poll, lost to Subbraya Gounder from Nettapakkam constituency in 1980 elections.

Mr Vaithilingam, subsequently held the constituency in 1985, 1990, 1991, 1996 and 2001. His brother Muthunarayana Reddiyar was his opponent in 1996 and 2001. He contested as an Independent in 1996 and on the ticket of the then Puducherry Makkal Congress in 2001.

In this election too, Mr Reddiyar is contesting against Mr Vaithilingam as a candidate of the newly floated Puducherry Munnetra Congress(PMC).


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more