• search

Jaya replaces nominees for Modakurichi, Palani constituencies

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Apr 20: P C Ramasamy, the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowment Minister and AIADMK nominee for the Modakurichi seat in the May eight Assembly election, has been suddenly replaced, a day before the closing of nominations.

AIADMK General Secretary and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa said in a statement here last night that V P Namasivayam, would be fielded as the party candidate in Modakurichi constituency in Erode district, instead of Mr Ramasamy.

The AIADMK supremo also replaced Ms R Tamilarasi with Ms S Prema, as the party candidate in the reserved constituency of Palani.

The reason for the sudden change of candidates is not immediately known.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more