• search

Congress aspirants file papers against DMK

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Apr 18 (UNI) Some Congress aspirants have filed their nomination papers against the official DMK candidates for the second phase of the Assembly elections in Pondicherry.

In Neravi constituency, Karaikal Congress General Secretary V M C V Ganapathy today filed his papers opposing his relative and DMK candidate V M C Sivakumar. Mr Ganapathy, who held the Neravi seat in 1991 as an AIADMK candidate, did not contest the 1996 elections when Mr Sivakumar won. In the 2001 elections also Mr Sivakumar won the seat defeating Mr Ganapathy.

In Modaliarpet constituency, despite warning of disciplinary action by PCC(I) president P Shanmugham, Congress Vice-president Sabapathy had filed his nomination papers against DMK candidate Dr M A S Subramanian. Mr Sabapathy held the Modaliarpet seat in 1974, 1977 and 1980. However, the seat went to AIADMK in 1985. He could not contest then. He again unsucessfully tried his luck in 1990 against a CPI candidate. However, Mr Sabapathy won it again in the 1991 election when he contested as an Independent. He lost to the CPI candidate Manjini in the 1996 elections and again to DMK's M A S Subramanian in the last election.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more