• search

Leaders file nominations

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Apr 17 (UNI) Pondicherry Industries Minister M Chandragasu of the Congress and former minister P Kannan, President of the Puducherry Munnetra Congress (PMC) were among those who filed their nomination papers for the May 3 and 8 assembly elections in the union territory today.

Twice minister, Mr Chandragasu who jumped into the election arena in 1980 is seeking election from his Nedumgadu (SC) constituency for the seventh time. He was defeated only once by the DMK candidate Marimuthu in 1996.

Mr Kannan, elected from Cassicade constituency on Congress ticket in 1985, kept away from contest in the last elections. He is seeking election from Modaliarpet constituency.

Mr Kannan, who was elected on Congress ticket in 1990 from Cassicade,however shifted to Lawspet constiteuncy in the 1991 election and got elected. He was again elected as an Independent from cassicate in 1996 and did not contest in 2001, leaving the cassicade constituency to his supporter K Lakshminarayanan.

Former ministers Theni C Jayakumar(Congress), M Kandasamy(Cong), V M C Sivakumar (DMK) A M H Nazeem(DMK) were among others who filed their papers today.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more