• search

Karunanidhi, Stalin, debutant Vijayakanth file nominations

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Apr 17 (UNI) DMK President and four-time Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, party Deputy General Secretary M K Stalin, actor-politician Vijayakanth and PMK President G K Mani were among those who filed their nominations for the May eight assembly elections in Tamil Nadu today.

Mr Karunanidhi, who is contesting the Chepauk seat for the third time in row, filed his papers before the Assistant Commissioner (Land Disposal) in the Office of Commissioner of Land Administration at Ezhilagam here.

The octagenarian leader has set a new record in the history of Tamil Nadu politics by entering the electoral fray for 11th time.

Mr Stalin, who has stuck to the Thousand Lights seat ever since he made his unsuccessful debut there in 1984, also filed his papers.

The DMK leader won the seat in 1989, 1996 and 2001 and suffered defeat in 1991 when a sympathy wave in the wake of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi's assassination swept across the state.

In an affidavit, Mr Stalin declared that the assets owned by him and his family members were worth Rs 1.31 crore.

Vijayakanth, who is testing political waters from Vridhdhachalam constituency in Cuddalore district, also filed his nomination today.

AIADMK nominees and State Ministers C V Shanmugam and K Pandurangan filed papers for Tindivanam and Anaicut constituencies, respectively.

Former assembly Speaker P T R Palanivelrajan, contesting from Madurai Central, former DMK Ministers Ko Si Mani (Kumbakonam), M R K Panneerselvam (Kurinjipadi), Veerapandi Arumugam (Salem two), Pongalur Palanisamy (Coimbatore East), Sarguna Pandian (Royapuram) and former Congress MP Peter Alphonse were prominent among those who filed their nominations today.

A large number of sitting MLAs, including PMK's T Velmurugan (Panrutti) and R Govindasamy (Vridhdhachalam), Congress party's Ramkumar (Papanasam), Thirugnanasambandam (Peravurani), also presented their papers.

AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa's classmate Bader Sayeed, who is contesting from Triplicane, and AIADMK candidate for Thousand Light Adhirajaram also filed their papers.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more