• search

43 new grid sub-stations to come up by Jan 2007 in Punjab

Written by: Staff

Chandigarh, Apr 17 (UNI) The Punjab government has chalked out an ambitious plan to commission 43 new Grid Sub-Stations (GSSs) till January 2007 in a phased manner to provide uninterrupted and quality power and minimise the transmission and distribution losses to make energy system far more viable.

These upcoming GSSs include one 220 KV at Tibber in Gurdaspur constituency and five 66 KV each at Matti (Mansa), Jodhpur (Talwandi Sabo), Golden Temple (North Amritsar), Zaula Khurd (Banur) and Lang (Samana), which would be commissioned till April 30, 2006, an official spokesman opf teh Punjab governments aid in a statement issued here today.

He said one GSS of 132 KV at Jadla ( Nawanshahr), and six GSSs of 66 KV each at Lakhna (Valtoha), Rangar Nangal (Quadian), Chowke (Joga), Ashahoor (Philaur), Kalyan Sukha (Nathana) and Old Jail Road, Ludhiana (Ludhiana-East) would be commissioned during May, 2006.

He also added the state government had ensured the release of power connection for all consumers and had also brought 10,564 villages under urban pattern supply of power and the remaining villages would be covered by the end of this financial year.

A sum of Rs 447.50 crore would be spent during 2006-07 on the renovation, modernisation and strengthening of the existing thermal plants and transmission and Sub transmission lines in the state, teh spokesman said.

Likewise, an amount of Rs. 924.35 crore which was 23.11 per cent of the annual plan 2006-07 had been earmarked for generation and strengthening of the transmission and distribution of electricity.

He further informed that sub stations of 66 KV each would be commissioned at Rajguru Nagar (Ludhiana- rural), Ballianwali (Joga), Panchhata (Phagwara), Agwar Lopon (Jagraon) and Loh Simbli (Ghanaur) in the month of June 2006.

In July 2006 the sub stations of Chak Ali Sher (Budhlada), Bagga Kalan (Ajnala), Fidde Khurd (Faridkot), Bhangi Nihal Singh Wala (Pacca Kalan), Kiratpur Sahib (Ropar), BehakGujran (Zira), KachehriChowk (Amritsar-West), Mandi Gobindgarh (Amloh), Balloki (Dakha), Patiala (Ghanaur) and Bhattian Jattan (Mukerian) will be commissioned.

The sub stations of Khusropur (Kapurthala), Haidon Bet (Klum Kalan), Nandpur Rare (Pathan Kot), Kheri Naudh Singh (Khanna), Gol Digi (Bathina)in August 2006, Janjla (Sherpur), Manewal-Barna-(Dhuri), Taragarh (Nirot Mehra), Paras Ram Nagar (Bathinda) will be commissioned in September 2006 while Tasjpur Rd., Lud. (Ludhiana Rural), Kassoana (Zira) and Gharuan (Kharar) in October 2006.

Similarly, 220 KV sub-station each at Mohali-II (Kharar) and Pakhowal (Nabha) would be commissioned in December 2006 and January 2007 respectively.

He added that during the regime of the present Congress government 69 new Grid Sub-Stations had already been commissioned from 2002 till date in both rural and urban areas to provide appropriate and uninterrupted power supply in the state.

The spokesman further stated that the state government was making all out efforts to augment the power supply to keep pace with the upcoming mega projects and the ever increasing demand of power in agriculture sector.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more