• search

Unbeaten Jharkhand, Orissa, Karnataka through to semis

Written by: Staff

Ranchi, Apr 8 (UNI) Continuing their winning streak for the third consecutive day, hosts Jharkhand, Orissa and defending champions Karnataka won their final group matches of the fourth All India BSNL hockey tournament being played at the astroturf stadium here today.

The three teams stormed into the semifinals with unbeaten records.

While Jharkhand beat Tamil Nadu 3-1, Orissa deafeated UP (East) 4-0 and Karnataka trounced Punjab 5-0.

In the biggest upset of the day NTR-New Delhi crushed Andhra Pradesh 5-0 and would now need only a draw against Jammu and Kashmir in their final group tie tomorrow to enter the semifinal.

In the other matches today, MTNL-Delhi beat Gujrat 3-1, Madhya Pradesh defeated Rajasthan 1-0 while West Bengal opened their account by defeating Jammu and Kashmir 1-0.

The semifinals will be played on April 10 while the final and third place match will be played on the next day.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more