• search

Mayoral elections in Delhi on Apr 12

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Apr 7 (UNI) Congress Councillor Farhad Suri will take on BJP's Savita Gupta for the Mayor's chair while Anita Babbar (Cong) takes on BJP's Surendra Singh for the Deputy Mayor's post.

Nine members, including six from the ward committees, would be elected unopposed to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi's Standing Committee. Among those who would be declared elected were present Standing Committee Chairman Mukesh Goel and Leader of Opposition in the Committee Vijender Gupta.

Elections to the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor would be held on April 12.

However all the members would be formally declared elected on the election day.

Today was the last date of filing nominations, an official statement said this evening. Scrutiny of nominations took place at the time of filing of nominations, hence all the members were set to be declared elected on the polling day except in case of any withdrawal.

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of all ward committees except Narela zone would also declared elected unopposed. Elections to the posts of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Narela ward committee would be held on April 17.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more