• search

Bagalkar re-elected as Chairman of BEST

Written by: Staff

Mumbai, Apr 7 (UNI) Mr Surendra Ramkrishna Bagalkar of Shiv Sena was today re-elected the Chairman of the Brihanmumbai Electric Supply&Transport (BEST) for the financial year 2006-07.

Mr Bagalkar bagged all the twelve Sena-BJP alliance votes while three Congress members voted against him.

The fourth Congress member, Ms Suvarna Vasant Suryavanshi, came late and hence she could not cast her vote, while another member, Vishnu Jayuaram Kanavaje (NCP), did not attend the proceedings.

Addressing the members after his election, Mr Bagalkar said BEST services would resume shortly from the newly constructed suburban station--Nahur, near Mulund--on the Central Railway.

Central Railways' spokesman A K Singh said Nahur station would be functional soon since the completion report was being discussed at the operational level.

Mr Bagalkar said ''BEST is toying with the idea of hiring buses from private owners to increase its services and efficiency.

He unambigously stated the hiring of buses did not mean privatisation of city bus services. The hired buses would have to ply under the Corporation supervision.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more