• search

LDF convenor, former Ministers file nominations

Written by: Staff

Thiruvananthapuram, Apr 6 (UNI) Left Democratic Front Convenor Paloli Mohammed Kutty and Democratic Indira Congress ( Karunakaran) President K Muraleedharan were among 154 candidates who filed nominations today for the second and third phase of Assembly polls in Kerala.

Mr Kutty filed his papers from Ponnani and Mr Muraleedharan from Koduvally, Election Commission sources said.

Former Ministers K V Thomas (Cong) and P K Kunhalikutty (IUML) were among the 145 candidates who filed their nominations for the second phase of polls. Prof Thomas filed his papers from Ernakulam and Mr Kunhalikutty from Kuttippuram.

They said nine candidates filed their nominations for the third phase in Kannur and Kasaragode districts, where elections were being held on May 3.

Tomorrow is the last day for filing nominations for the second phase during which 66 constituencies in Kozhikode, Wayanad, Malappuram, Palakkad, Thrissur and Ernakulam districts would go to the polls on April 29.

For the first phase of polls, 536 candidates were left in the fray for 59 constituencies in the six southern districts after scrutiny of papers.

The counting of votes would take place on May 11.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more