• search

CPI releases list of candidates for TN polls

Written by: Staff

Tiruchirapalli, Apr 6 (UNI) The CPI today released its list of candidates for the May eight Assembly elections renominating only two sitting members.

Announcing the names of the ten candidates at a press conference here this evening after the party's state executive committee meeting, CPI state secretary T Pandiyan said the names have been chosen after obtaining consent from CPI Polit bureau.

A key constituent of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)-led Democratic Progressive Alliance (DPA), the CPI has been alloted ten constituencies under the poll pact.

The list contains only one woman. The party will field CPI-affiliated National Federation of Indian Women (NFIW) Tamil Nadu state secretary P Padmavathy in the Nannilam constituency.

Following is the list of the candidates: S Rajasekharan (Alangudi), S Gunasekharan (Sivaganga), T Ramasamy (Srivilliputhur), M Arumugham (Avinashi), N Periyasamy (Perunthurai), S Rajendran (Kovilpatti), S Nagaraja Reddy (Thali), K Ulaganathan (Thiruthuraipoondi), V Siva Punniyam (Mannargudi) and P Padmavathy (Nannilam).

While Mr S Rajendran and V Siva Punniyam were sitting MLAs, all others were new candidates.

Veteran CPI MLA T Palanisamy had withdrawn from the contest and Mr K Ulaganathan had been fielded in his place in the Thiruthuraipoondi constituency, he added.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more