• search

EC announces bypoll for Rae Bareli, 10 other LS seats

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Apr 3 (UNI) The Election Commission today announced May 8 as the date for holding byelections for 11 Lok Sabha seats, including Rae Bareli, vacated by Congress President Sonia Gandhi in the wake of the office-of-profit controversy.

The other seats that will have byelections are Gwalior and Sidhi in Madhya Pradesh, Erandol and Jalgaon in Maharashtra, Rajnandgaon in Chhattisgarh, Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh, Palamu in Jharkhand and Robertsganj, Mirzapur and Bilhaur in Uttar Pradesh.

Ms Gandhi had quit the seat on March 23 following demands for her disqualification for holding an office of profit in the form of National Advisory Council (NAC) Chairpersonship.

The notification for the byelections will be issued on April 13 and counting will be taken up on May 11.

The last date for making nominations is April 20 and scrutiny will take place on April 21. The last date for withdrawal is April 24.

The commission also announced that byelection to the Deeg assembly constitutency of Rajasthan would be held under the same schedule.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more