• search

Kannan to contest this time round

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Mar 31 (UNI) Puducherry Munnetra Congress (PMC) President and former minister P Kannan will be trying his luck in the electoral arena this time from Modaliarpet constituency after sitting out in the last elections.

Mr Kannan, who won from Cassicade constituency in the 1996 elections gave away his seat to his supporter K Lakshminarayanan in the 2001 election.

Announcing the second list of the party candidates here, Mr Kannan, who had earlier announced five candidates to contest the May 3 and 8 assembly elections in alliance with the AIADMK, said the party had announced winning candidates'' for all the constituencies.

The PMC will be contesting ten seats in alliance and the party had also announced Mr P K Devadass as the candidate for Rajbhavan and Mr Muthunrayana Reddiyar for Nettapakkam. The candidates for Bussy and Kuruvinatham would be announced later, he said.

Answering a question, he said the PMC is waiting for the opponents to finalise their alliance and announce their candidates, following which the candidates for Bussy and Nettapakkam would be announced.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more