24 candidates file nominations for first, second phase polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Thiruvananthapuram, Mar 31 (UNI) Kerala Labour Minister Babu Divakaran, Fisheries Minister Dominic Presentation and former Transport Minister Ganesh Kumar were among the 24 candidates who filed their nominations papers today for the first and second phase of the Assembly elections in the state.

Election Commission sources said 19 nominations were filed for the first phase of polls and five for the second phase. The notification for the second phase of elections was issued today.

Mr Divakaran, leader of the Revolutionary Socialist party (B), filed his papers from Kollam as an independent candidate while Mr Presentation filed nomination seeking re-election from Palluruthy.

Mr Ganesh Kumar (Kerala Congress-B) who represents Pathanapuram in Kollam district filed his nomination seeking re-election from the constituency.

Sitting MLA K Mohan Kumar (Congress) filed his papers from Thiruvananthapuram North constituency. Mr Mangode Radhakrishnan of the Communist Party of India, who met with an accident a few days ago, drove straight from the Thiruvananthapuram Medical college to the Collectorate to file his nomination papers for the Nedumangad constituency.

Communist party of India (Marxist) state secretariat member Thomas Issac filed his papers from Mararikulam and Mr T J Anjalose of the Communist party of India from Alappuzha.

The EC sources said Mr Mani C Kappan of the Nationalist Congress Party filed his papers from the Pala constituency, from where Revenue Minister K M Mani filed his papers yesterday. The Communist party of India (Marxist) candidate Krishnankutty filed his papers from Ettumanoor.

Mr M P Gangadharan of the Democratic Indira Congress (Karunakran) filed his papers from Ponnani, where he would be facing Left Democratic Front Convenor Paloli Mohammedkutty(CPI-M).

The others who filed nominations are Mr K Prathapan (IND) from Aroor, Chacko George (IND) from Chertala, M Babu Prasad (Congress), Mr Chitrangadan (BJP) and N Narayana Pillai (IND) from Harippad, Mr B Haridas (BJP) from Kalooppara, Mr K K Nair (IND) from Pathanamthitta, Mr Raju Vattappara (SUCI) from Kanjirapally, Mr S Sreekumar (SUCI) from Nedumangad and Mr A V Krishnan Moosad (IND) from Wadakkanchery.


Please Wait while comments are loading...