• search

'The Week' Resident Editor bags K'taka Media Academy award

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Mar 29 (UNI) Mr Sachidananda Murthy, the Resident Editor of English weekly 'The Week', has been selected for the national level special award of the Karnataka Media Acadamy in recognition of his outstanding services to the field of journalism.

Announcing its annual awards for 2005-06 for journalists here today, Academy Chairman V N Subba Rao said the 'Andholana' award given for best newspaper publishing from rural areas was bagged by 'Karavali Munjavu', a daily from Karwar and the 'Abhimani' award for best social reaction report went to Sheshamurthy Avadhani of 'Kannada Prabha' from Gulbarga. The award for 'Best Human Interest story' was given away to Basavaraj Hongal of 'Ushakirana', Bangalore.

The others selected for the awards included Ponnappa(Cartoonist), K Gopinath (Photographer), Munjane Sathya (electronic medium journalist), Dr Vijaya (Cultural and cinema), K H Savithri, Rafi Bhandari, R P Jagadish, R T Majjagi, Indudhar Honnapur, Gururaj, K Ramakrishna, S Ranganath, H L Keshavamurthy and Ichanur Kumar.

While the national special award carried Rs 15,000 in cash, a memento and certificate, the others would receive Rs 10,000 in cash, a memento and certificate.

The awards would be presented during the third week of April.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more