• search

Poll permutation: Kalimuthu dropped from list

Written by: Staff

Chennai, Mar 29: In a surprise move, Former Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker and AIADMK Presidium Chairman K Kalimuthu has been dropped from the list of party candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections.

Instead, the AIADMK-affiliated Anna Thozhir Sanga Peravai Secretary S T K Jakkaiyan would contest from the Madurai (Central) constituency, a party release here last night said.

Four other candidates, whose names figured in the original list released by AIADMK General Secretary J Jayalalithaa on March 27, have also been dropped.

While Mr S P Velumani would be the new candidate in place of Mr K P Raju for Perur, Mr M Subramaniam replaced Ms Selvi Duraisamy in Anthiyur (Reserved) constituency.

Mr R Parthiban would contest from Bodinayakkanur in the place of Mr M Paramasivam.

The AIADMK nominee from Usudu (Reserved) constituency in Pondicherry, Mr M Selvaraj, has been dropped.

He has been replaced by Pondicherry AIADMK General Secretary S Arasi.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more