• search

56 receive Padma awards

By Staff
Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 29: Former Chief Justice of India V N Khare, noted architect Charles Correa, ENT specialist Dr Mohan Kameswaran, litterateur Dinesh Nandini Dalmia, Malayalam poetess Sugathakumari, constitutional expert P P Rao, Ghazal king Pankaj Udhas and CII Chief Mentor Tarun Das were among 53 eminent citizens, who received the Padma Awards today.

President APJ Abdul Kalam conferred the awards at an impressive ceremony at Ashoka Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

A total of 106 prominent personalities were honoured with the civilian awards this year. Of them, 50 were covered in the first phase of the awards function held on March 20.

Today, 56 personalities were to receive the awards, but three of them Hindi writer Mahashweta Devi (Padma Vibhusan) and scientist Kunnath Puthiyaveetil Padmanabhan Nambiar and bureaucrat P S Appu (both Padma Bhusan) -- did not turn up for the function.

While Justice Khare and Mr Correa received the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award, Ms Dalmia, Mr Rao and Mr Tarun Das were honoured with Padma Bhushan.

Dr Kameswaran, Pankaj Udhas and Ms Sugathakumari were conferred with Padma Shri.

Of the total 106 civilian awards announced for this year, nine were Padma Vibhushan, 36 Padma Bhushan and 61 Padma Shri.

Following is today's list of awardees: Padma Vibhushan: Ms Mahasveta Devi (Literature and Education), Prof Obaid Siddiqui and Charles Correa (both Science and Engineering), Prof Prakash Narain Tandon (Medicine) and Justice V N Khare (Public Affairs).

Padma Bhushan: Ustad Abdul Halim Jaffer Khan (Art), Ms Devaki Jain (Social Work), Ms Dinesh Nandini Dalmia (Literature and Education), Hira Lall Sibal (Public Affairs), Air Commodore Jasjit Singh (Defence Services), Prof K G Subramanyam (Art), Kamleshwar Prasad Saxena (Literature and Education), Konidala Chiranjeevi (Art), Kunnath Puthiyaveetil Padmanabhan Nambiar (Science and Engineering), Prof Lokesh Chandra (Literature and Education), Prof Moolamattom Varkey Pylee (Literature and Education), Prof N S Ramaswamy (Social Work), P P Rao (Public Affairs), P S Appu (Civil Service), Ustad Sabri Khan (Art), Dr (Smt) Shanno Khurana (Art), Shashi Bhushan (Public Affairs), Tarun Das (Trade and Industry) and Prof Vijay Shankar Vyas (Literature and Education).

Padma Shri: Sheikh Abdul Rahman Bin Abdullah Al Mahmoud (Public Affairs), Ms Ajeet Cour (Literature and Education), Dr Anil Prakash Joshi (Social Work), Dr Bhuvaraghan Palaniappan (Medicine), Billy Arjan Singh (Wildlife Conservation), Dr Bonbehari Vishnu Nimbkar (Science and Engineering), Ms Fatma Rafiq Zakaria (Literature and Education), Dr Ghanashyam Mishra (Medicine), Prof Hakim Syed Zillur Rehman (Medicine), Swami Hari Govind Maharaj (Art), Dr (Ms) Ilena Citaristi (Art), Prof (Dr) Kamal Kumar Sethi (Medicine), Kashmiri Lal Zakir (Literature and Education), Dr Laltluangliana Khiangte (Literature and Education), Ms Madhumita Bisht (Sports), Madhup Mudgal (Art), Mehmood Dhaulpuri (Art), Dr (Ms) Mehmooda Ali Shah (Literature and Education), Prof Mohan Kameswaran (Medicine), Mohan Singh Gunjyal (Sports), Ms Mrinal Pande (Journalism), Pankaj Udhas (Art), Prasad Sawkar (Art), Dr R Balasubramanian (Science and Engineering), Dr Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain (Science and Engineering), Ms Shahnaz Husain (Trade and Industry), Shree Lal Joshi (Art), Prof Sitanshu Yashaschandra (Literature and Education), Ms Sugathakumari (Literature and Education), Suresh Krishna (Trade and Industry), Ms Surender Kaur (Art), Dr Swaminathan Sivaram (Science and Engineering), Dr Tehemton Erach Udwadia (Medicine), Dr (Ms) Tsering Landol (Medicine) and Ms Vasundra Komkali (Art).


For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X