• search

3 PMC sitting members selected again to contest in UT polls

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Mar 29 (UNI) The Puducherry Munnetra Congress (PMC) today gave another chance to three sitting members to fight the Assembly elections in the Union Territory.

The party had selected sitting member and former Education Minister K Lakshminarayanan to contest from Cassicade constituency, while P Rajavelu, another sitting member was given his Bahour seat.

Both Mr Lakshminarayanan and Rajavelu had won the last elections in the PMC ticket and became Congress legislators when Mr P Kannan, founder of the PMC merged his party with the Congress.

Mr Lakshminarayanan and Mr Rajavelu had resigned their membership earlier to contest in the PMC ticket.

The sitting independent member T Jayamurty of Ariyankuppam had recently joined the PMC in a bid to contest from the same constituency in the AIADMK-PMC alliance and Mr Kannan did not disappoint him while announcing the candidate.

Though Mr Kannan had stated that the second list of candidates would be released in a couple of days, it is presumed that the PMC was waiting for the announcement of the Congress-DMK candidate lists to select its candidates for the other five constituencies.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more