• search

Kalam to give away Padma Awards tomorrow

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Mar 28: President A P J Abdul Kalam will present the Padma Awards at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan tomorrow.

As many as 56 of 106 eminent citizens, who were chosen for the awards for 2006, are expected to receive the awards.

Of the 56 awardees, five will get the second highest civilian award of Padma Vibhushan, 19 will receive Padma Bhushan and the remaining will be honoured with Padma Shri.

A total 50 were honoured with such awards at a function on March 20.

Following is the list of awardees for tomorrow: Padma Vibhushan: Ms Mahasveta Devi (Literature and Education), Prof Obaid Siddiqui and Charles Correa (both Science and Engineering), Prof Prakash Narain Tandon (Medicine) and Justice V N Khare (Public Affairs).

Padma Bhushan: Ustad Abdul Halim Jaffer Khan (Art), Ms Devaki Jain (Social Work), Ms Dinesh Nandini Dalmia (Literature and Education), Hira Lall Sibal (Public Affairs), Air Commodore Jasjit Singh (Defence Services), Prof K G Subramanyam (Art), Kamleshwar Prasad Saxena (Literature and Education), Konidala Chiranjeevi (Art), Kunnath Puthiyaveetil Padmanabhan Nambiar (Science and Engineering), Prof Lokesh Chandra (Literature and Education), Prof Moolamattom Varkey Pylee (Literature and Education), Prof N S Ramaswamy (Social Work), P P Rao (Public Affairs), P S Appu (Civil Service), Ustad Sabri Khan (Art), Dr (Smt) Shanno Khurana (Art), Shashi Bhushan (Public Affairs), Tarun Das (Trade and Industry) and Prof Vijay Shankar Vyas (Literature and Education).

Padma Shri: Sheikh Abdul Rahman Bin Abdullah Al Mahmoud (Public Affairs), Ms Ajeet Cour (Literature and Education), Dr Anil Prakash Joshi (Social Work), Dr Bhuvaraghan Palaniappan (Medicine), Billy Arjan Singh (Wildlife Conservation), Dr Bonbehari Vishnu Nimbkar (Science and Engineering), Ms Fatma Rafiq Zakaria (Literature and Education), Dr Ghanashyam Mishra (Medicine), Prof Hakim Syed Zillur Rehman (Medicine), Swami Hari Govind Maharaj (Art), Dr (Ms) Ilena Citaristi (Art), Prof (Dr) Kamal Kumar Sethi (Medicine), Kashmiri Lal Zakir (Literature and Education), Dr Laltluangliana Khiangte (Literature and Education), Ms Madhumita Bisht (Sports), Madhup Mudgal (Art), Mehmood Dhaulpuri (Art), Dr (Ms) Mehmooda Ali Shah (Literature and Education), Prof Mohan Kameswaran (Medicine), Mohan Singh Gunjyal (Sports), Ms Mrinal Pande (Journalism), Pankaj Udhas (Art), Prasad Sawkar (Art), Dr R Balasubramanian (Science and Engineering), Dr Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain (Science and Engineering), Ms Shahnaz Husain (Trade and Industry), Shree Lal Joshi (Art), Prof Sitanshu Yashaschandra (Literature and Education), Ms Sugathakumari (Literature and Education), Suresh Krishna (Trade and Industry), Ms Surender Kaur (Art), Dr Swaminathan Sivaram (Science and Engineering), Dr Tehemton Erach Udwadia (Medicine), Dr (Ms) Tsering Landol (Medicine) and Ms Vasundra Komkali (Art).


Related Stories

Kalam to address legislatures of Bihar

President identifies core areas of dev

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more