• search

AIADMK announces candidates list for Pondy

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Mar 27 (UNI) The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) today announced the list of candidates for the 16 seats the party will be contesting in the May 3 and 8 Assembly elections in the union territory.

While accomodating two sitting members A Kasilingam (Muthialpet) and A Anbazhagan (Ouppalam), the party also gave a ticket to sitting member A M Krishnamurty who quit the BJP and joined the AIADMK. He is being fielded from the Reddiyuarpalayam constituency.

Mr D Omalingam, was selected to contest from Kottucherry constituency which is presently vacant following the death of Congress member R Nalamaharajan.

Mr Omalingam who was selected as the candidate for the Puducherry Makkal Congress (PMC) to contest the Kottucherry constituency was allowed to join AIADMK for the polls since the seat went to the AIADMK under the seat sharing arrangement.

The party has also given a second chance to Mr K Natarajan who held the Uzhavarkarai seat from 1996 to 2001 and lost in the last election from the constituency to the TMC(M) candidate.

The rest are newcomers and the party, surprisingly, is contesting from the Mahe and Yanam regions of the union territory where it does not have a base.

(Eds: Pls pick up suitably from earlier series) UNI PAB GM LR PC1837

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more