• search

Office of Profit issue : Tripura Governor seeks EC's opinion

Written by: Staff

Agartala, Mar 26 (UNI) In a new twist to the 'office of profit' issue in Tripura, Governor Dinesh Nandan Sahaya has sought the Election Commission's opinion about a Left MP and 14 MLAs from the state, who are reportedly coming under the purview of the issue.

Sources close to the Governor House said here today that Mr Sahaya had sought the opinion of the Election Commission after he had received complaints from the Opposition parties that the Left MP and 14 MLAs had been holding offices of profit.

The Opposition Congress and the INPT had already written to the President, the Election Commission and the Governor demanding disqualification of the lone Rajya Sabha MP from the state, Mr Matilal Sarkar and the 14 Left MLAs on charges of holding offices of profit.

The 14 MLAs are Mr Monoranjan Debbarma, Mr Bijoy Roy, Mr Ranjit Debnath, Mr Prabitra Kar, Mr Sahid Choudhury, Mr Narayan Choudhury, Mr Manindra Reang, Mr Amitabha Datta, Mr Sudhan Das, Mr Padmakumar Debbarma, Mr Sukumar Barman, Mr Madhab Chandra Saha, Mr Rajendra Reang and Mr Jashabir Tripura.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more