• search

LDF releases list of 129 seats for assembly poll

Written by: Staff

Thiruvananthapuram, Mar 26 (UNI) The CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in Kerala today released a list of 129 seats out of 140 for the April-May Assembly polls, leaving out 11, as a consensus could not be reached among the Front partners for these seats.

The CPI(M) will contest in 76 seats, the CPI in 24, Janata Dal(S) in eight, Kerala Congress (Joseph) six, Revolutionary Socialist Party four, Nationalist Congress Party two, Congress(S) and Kerala Congress (S) in one seat each, and independents in four seats, LDF Convenor Paloli Mohammedkutty told newspersons here after the Front's meeting.

He said three seats had been given to the Indian National League (INL), which was supporting the LDF.

Mr Mohammedkutty said as some constituents had come up with claims to the 11 seats, discussions were going on and a final decision could be taken by tomorrow. The winnability of candidates, would be taken into consideration, while allotting these seats, he added.

He said the Front partners had parted with some seats to the others, taking into consideration, the winnability. The CPI(M) had taken Kannur, Peravoor, Tirur, Ottapalam, Puthuppalli and Pathanamthitta from the Front partners, and Manjeri, which was contested by the Janata Dal last time was now given to the INL, he said.

Kondotty, where the Janata Dal had contested last time had been given to an Independent and Kozhikode-11 to INL (earlier it was contested by the CPI-M), he said.

Asked if the CPI (M)'s move to take away some of the seats contested by Front partners, had led to the delay in releasing the list, Mr Mohammedkutty said the CPI(M) had not discussed seat sharing in the LDF, taking into account numbers alone. ''What we insisted during the discussions is the winning of the seats.

All the facts, including the winnability of a candidate was taken into account, while finalising the list,'' he said and added that the CPI(M) had also parted with its seats for its Front partners.

He also said that the LDF poll manifesto would be released at Kozhikode on March 28.

Among the candidates, who figured in the CPI(M) list released today were Opposition Leader V S Achutanandan (Malampuzha), Paloli Mohammedkutty (Ponnani), State Secretariat member Kodiyeri Balakrishnan (Thallassery), P Jayarajan (Kuthuparamaba), former Electricity Minister S Sarma (Vadakkekara), M M Laurence (Ernakulam), Dr T M Thomas Issac (Mararikulam), G Sudhakaran (Ambalapuzha), M A Baby (Kundara), former Thiruvananthapuram mayor V Shivankutty (Thiruvananthapuram- East), Former speaker M Vijayakumar (Thiruvananthapuram-North), and Students Federation of India State President Sindhu Joy from Puthupally, where Chief Minister Oommen Chandy is likely to be the Congress candidate.

The CPI(M) had contested 77 seats last time, the CPI in 24 seats, Janata Dal (S) in 12, Kerala Congress (Joseph) in ten, the RSP in six, the NCP and the Congress (S) together in nine.

The LDF meeting yesterday on seat-sharing had hit a road block after most of the coalition partners fumed at the CPI(M) move to take away some of the seats contested by them in the last Assembly elections.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more