Where will Modi contest from? All eyes on BJP's 4th candidates' list

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, March 15: All eyes were set on the BJP's central election committee meeting which was underway in New Delhi on Saturday morning. The party is likely to settle all confusion and curiosity over the seats of some of its heavyweight candidates, including prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, for the Lok Sabha election beginning April 7.

[Read: BJP's candidates list so far]

As the leaders were working on finalising the crucial fourth list of candidates, sources said that Modi might contest from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The party leadership witnessed differences on the matter with Varanasi's sitting MP Murli Manohar Joshi expressing reluctance to vacate the seat for the Gujarat chief minister.

Sources said Modi and Jaitley may contest from Varanasi & Amritsar, respectively

Problem cropped up in Lucknow as well where sitting MP Lalji Tandon said that he would not vacate his seat for anybody but Modi. Party president Rajnath Singh was likely to contest from this seat. Former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee had once represented this seat.

Another senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley may contest from Amritsar in Punjab. Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu is the MP from this seat.

The BJP has released names of 203 candidates and is likely to announce name of 125 candidates in its fourth list anytime.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...